August 4, 2013

  • Children’s Bible songs

    Do you all remember that song from childhood that goes like this?

    The B I B L E
    Yes, that’s the book for me
    I stand alone on the word of God
    The B I B L E.

    Well, as a child I thought that might have been the most ridiculous song ever.  Really.. who is going to stand on the Bible and OF COURSE you have to stand alone, you couldn’t fit more than one at a time on a Bible anyway.  The surface area is fairly small when you start filling it up with feet.  I sang it anyway because it was a short song and it involved spelling so that was cool.  Didn’t understand it at all. 

    Then I grew up a little and started to understand it meant to “take a stand” or “place your beliefs” in God’s word ONLY.  Well THAT makes so much more sense and I can totally get behind that message.  I wonder why that wasn’t taught to me better when I was a child?  I get it now, so it’s all good.

    I still love to sing worship songs.  Currently my favorite might be “The Great I Am” by Phillips, Craig & Dean.   What is your favorite song?

    Have a happy day!!

Comments (4)

  • I don’t have a favorite song. I like the newsboys “In The Belly Of The Whale”.

  • I have lots of favorite songs.  They keep changing.  I really like the new version of Amazing Grace that we sometimes sing at church.  It’s the one that has the little chorus “My chains fell off, I’ve been set free, Mt God, my Savior has ransomed me.”  You’ve probably heard it.

  • @ata_grandma - I have heard of that song.  We sing it often.  :)   Good times.  My family is just weird enough that we have compiled a list of about 26 different tunes that we can sing Amazing Grace to.  HA!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *