September 5, 2013

  • Trying to get a job

    I have been MIA a lot recently from Xanga. Mostly because I don’t feel like I have ENOUGH to say to warrant writing a whole post about it when a simple status update is plenty. Also, I’ve been trying to get a job. Let me just share a few things about that process.

    There is no more face to face meetings with people to see if there is a job available at their place of business. It is all done online. I can understand how this is more efficient as far as sorting out the people that qualify or do not qualify, but honestly, I miss the personal interaction.

    Because things are done online instead of in person, everything becomes black and white instead of being able to expand on the answer. For example “Are you certified in early childhood education” is a yes or no answer. If I answer yes, that is the truth, but if I answer no, that is also the truth. There is no way to give a yes or no answer that is both accurate and fully explained why both answers are true. THAT is frustrating.

    I have not yet figured out how to follow up on an online application. There typically is not a link or email to a person to follow up. I applied for several jobs at one place. I think there were 7 job openings that I qualified for. I never heard a word. I eventually found a phone number to call to see if they needed anything else from me. Turns out that they never got my application in the first place because of a computer glitch. Meanwhile all 7 jobs were already filled. I’m not a pest, but I want a way to follow up with places to make sure I’ve done all I can do.

    There is a screening process many places go through to find new employees. They have a computer run an algorithm to screen out people and leave only a certain group. However, when I’ve been screened out, there is never a reason why. It is totally possible I have whatever it is they are looking for, but I didn’t know they were looking for that and therefore it wasn’t on the application.

    My thoughts are these. Computers and screening probably work for some companies or some job seekers. Good for them. But for me and many many others, it does not work. It is frustrating and tiring to continue to look for work and not find it because you don’t know the secret words in the algorithm that will get you noticed. I just want the opportunity to work and provide basic needs for my family such as shelter, food and medical care when needed. It shouldn’t be this hard to get a job. *sigh

    However, I still continue to look for a job both in education and outside of education. I have a family to feed and could really use the job and insurance benefits. God continues to meet our needs both physical and emotional. I am so grateful that in spite of the hard times, I am still God’s child and He still loves me. Somehow and someway, God always works things out. I have faith in Him.

    Have a happy day!

Comments (3)

  • Yes! I have been very fortunate too! I have not had to look for a job in quite some time! People mention LinkedIn – instead of resumes! I guess this old Donkey would have to learn a whole set of new tricks if I have to find another job!

  • There is no substitute for one on one, face to face contact. Too bad so many people are weeded out of the job market without even getting a proper evaluation. Good luck with our job hunt.

  • My comment is awaiting moderation! :-)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *