May 2, 2014

  • An open letter to my daughter

    DSCF8764 - Copy Dear daughter, This picture is my very favorite of all the prom pictures that were taken. This picture is one of those that just speaks a story as soon as I see it. Even though it didn’t make it onto Facebook for the world to see, it is one I hope you will learn to treasure. Let me explain why this picture is so beautiful in case you don’t see it yet. THIS is a picture of what a right spiritual relationship looks like. By spiritual relationship, I mean in the sense that the Bible uses when it speaks of the church being the bride of Christ and how marriage on Earth mirrors that relationship with Christ. This is what it looks like for a godly man to cherish a godly woman. He leads her gently and carefully. He guides her in a way that keeps her safe both physically and spiritually. He goes before her and is able to point out anything that might cause her to stumble. He leads her from darkness into light. He loves her enough to lead her and guide her without forcing her to go where she shouldn’t go. She has spent time in preparation for this. She has prepared herself to follow him and to take his hand. She trusts where he is leading because she knows how much he loves her. She has kept herself pure. She has made herself beautiful, but not only on the outside but on the inside. She has prepared her heart to be ready to go where he leads. She is a shining beauty made even more beautiful by the love in her heart that finds its way to show on her face. She respects him with all of her heart.

    THIS is what I pray for you. This kind of relationship with God where you follow HIS lead. This kind of relationship that other people can see as strong and beautiful. This kind of relationship with a man that will bring you closer to God, to lead you without pushing you and to honor the fact that you belong to God first. THIS picture is what I want for you spiritually as well as in a marriage relationship one day. I pray this for you every day. I pray for both of you actually, every day. I pray that no matter who you both end up married to, that you both can be THIS kind of person in your marriage. I realize you are only in high school right now and marriage is probably not even on your radar at this point. One day, years from now, when you decide who to marry (or decide to remain single), just remember I’ve been praying for you all along. I love you!

Comments (2)

  • That was a beautiful piece of writing Donna. Exactly the desire for all these amazing daughters! Thank you for sharing.

  • What a beautiful letter, and such great insight into the picture, and the things it does represent to you. I saw some of those things, too. Your daughter is blessed to have you for her mama. Yes, thank you for sharing, this, Donna. ~ ♥ Carolyn

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *